Make font size smaller Make font size default Make font size larger


Faculty of Dentistry

Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology

The Department of Dentomaxillofacial Radiology is one of the newest branch of health sciences. Following the Higher Education Council (YÖK) Law, which entered into force in 1982, Dentomaxillofacial Radiology was became a discipline and a short time later served under Dentomaxillofacial Surgery Department, and then was attached to Restorative Dentistry Department.  It was became independent by the Decision of YÖK dated 08.06.1995, and was turned into the Department of Dentomaxillofacial Radiology.


The issues covered under headings of dental radiology, dental radiography, x-ray apparatus, bath and dark room operations, factors affecting the formation of radiographic images, factors related to image quality, radiological imaging, radiation physics, biological effects of radiation, prevention rules, anatomical formations and artifacts on radiographs are field of interest of Dentomaxillofacial Radiology Department.

Under the oral diagnosis heading, issues of information about patient anamnesis and clinical examination, use of anamnesis form, systemic and dental history of the patient, complaints, extraoral and intraoral clinical examination methods, evaluation of history and clinical examination data are explained.

The Department has two clinics, Oral Diagnosis and Radiology. Clinical examination of the patient is performed in the Oral Diagnosis Clinic, and radiographic examinations are performed in the Radiology Clinic.

The first examination procedures of the patients who want to be examined and treated at dentistry faculty hospital are done at Department of Dentomaxillofacial Radiology Department and after the completion of clinical and radiological examination procedures , patients are directed to other appropriate clinics and the treatment is continued.

Akademic Staff

Prof. Dr. Bedriye Güniz BAKSI ŞEN(Head of Departments)
Prof. Dr. Günnur LOMÇALI
Prof. Dr. Hülya ÇANKAYA
Prof. Dr. Zuhal TUĞSEL
Prof. Dr. Pelin GÜNERİ
Prof. Dr. Esin ALPÖZ
Doç. Dr. Erinç ÖNEM
Doç. Dr. Elif ŞENER
Doç. Dr. Betül KARACA
Dt. Nezaket Ezgi ÖZER
Dt. Oğuzhan BAYDAR
Dt. Fulya TADIK